Jesper Widén

Wall of Fame

Newbery Medal-Winning Author Avi

The Tightens (SCBWI Critique Group) In 2007 when my writing course at Cal State Fullerton concluded, Sonja Wilbert and I (along with four other students) decided to continue meeting for critiquing each other's writing. Sonja suggested we name our writers group the Tightens. (Clever considering the school's moniker is the Titans, and we were all trying to "tighten" our manuscripts.) So many years later and here we are still cranking out pages and critiquing each other's work. This picture was taken in 2013. To date, five of the six featured in the photo are still active members of the Tightens. From left to right: Sonja Wilbert, me, Alan Williams, Beverly Plass (SCBWI SoCal Regional Advisor), Judy Lopez Honor Recipient Kathryn Fitzmaurice (THE YEAR THE SWALLOWS CAME EARLY, A DIAMOND IN THE DESERT, and DESTINY, REWRITTEN) and Pura Belpré Winning Author Ernesto Cisneros (EFRÉN DIVIDED and FALLING SHORT)

Two-Time Newbery Medal-Winning Author Lois Lowry